Giving Tuesday

I run a blog about donating, you didn’t think I’d miss out on Giving Tuesday, did you?

My donation for Giving Tuesday is going to things that have impacted me personally and, quite literally, changed my life. I’m talking about the University of New Orleans (specifically the Department of Fine Arts), the Zeta Tau Alpha Foundation, and Alpha Gamma Delta Foundation.

I got my B.A. in Fine Arts from the University of New Orleans (UNO), and while I don’t have a job creating  art now, the skills I’ve learned stick with me today. One of the most important being how to give and receive valuable criticism and feedback. Because of this, I was never afraid to seek out the best when writing papers in grad school, constantly asking others for their criticism on my papers, or taking a heavy hand with my comments on others’ papers that they’d have me proofread for them. It also made me unafraid to speak up when I feel something could be done better. All because I know it’s for the best, it’s to make me better and it’s to make others better. As I’ve gotten older, I realize that not everybody has had this opportunity.

As many of you know, funding for higher education in the state of Louisiana is less than desirable. I would say this impacts only a certain type of university, but really it’s kicking everyone’s butt. My alma mater has a commitment to the people of New Orleans, and to the state of Louisiana. It’s given so much to me, that I can only feel proud to give back. It’s not a lot, just my standard $10, but every little bit helps.

I joined the Delta Nu Chapter of Zeta Tau Alpha in the Fall of 2008 at UNO. Without joining this organization, my time at UNO would not have been as enriching as it was. I met “my people” in Delta Nu. Now, 8 years later, I’m being invited to weddings, standing as a bridesmaid, planning spontaneous trips, and sharing laughs, life updates, and weird stories with those people. I’m also volunteering as an officer advisor and a traveling facilitator to provide the support and enrichment to collegians that were provided to me.

ZTA’s Foundation supports their philanthropic efforts, scholarships for its members, and educational programming. I’m proud to give my $10 to help my collegiate and alumnae sisters around the country.

While I am not a sister of Alpha Gamma Delta, they gave me my first job out of grad school! How can I not appreciate that? I feel like every day I hear about or connect to someone new that the Alpha Gam Foundation has impacted, and as someone who directly works with the funding provided to the Foundation, I am incredibly proud to donate this Giving Tuesday.

Consider making your Giving Tuesday personal like I have, what has inspired you? Help them inspire others. If nothing immediately comes to mind, think of those you love in your life and the causes and organizations that they support. Consider a donation in their name this Giving Tuesday!

One thought on “Giving Tuesday

Leave a Reply

